a puritan's blog

O God, stamp eternity on my eyeballs…

I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all

There was once a poor man in a small country town who had not all the sense people usually have, but he had sense enough to be a great drunkard and swearer [4] as God would have it, he once listened to a poor woman, who was singing –

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

Home he went, repeating these words, he put his trust in a crucified Saviour, and was really converted. Well, he soon came to the church, and although he was a pedlar, and always travelling about, he said, “I want to join your church.” They, remembering his sinful way of life, required some great evidence of a change before they received him, “O!” says he, “I must come in.” “But you have been such a great sinner, and you are unconverted,” added the elders. “Well,” said poor Jack, “I don’t know if I’m unconverted, and I confess I am a great sinner – but:

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

They could not get from him any other testimony save this. He would only say –

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

They could not refuse him, and therefore accepted him for fellowship. After this he was always happy. When a Christian man said to him “But you always seem so happy and pleased, John; how is it?” “Well,” said he, “I ought to be happy, for -”

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

“Well but,” said the gentleman, “I can’t see how you can always be so happy and sure. I sometimes lose my evidences.” “I don’t,” said Jack,

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

“Ah,” said a friend, “I am at times miserable because I remember my sad sinfulness even since conversion.” “Ah,” said Jack, you have not begun to sing,

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

“Oh!” said the friend, “how do you get rid of your doubts and fears? My faith frequently fails, and I miss my sure hope in Christ. My frames are so variable and feelings so contrary, what do you think of that?”

“Think,” said poor Jack, “why master I have no good things to care about –

“I’m a poor sinner and nothing at all;
But Jesus Christ is my all in all.”

(From a Spurgeon sermon. Anybody know which one?)

Leave a Reply

